Be the first to know: SUBSCRIBE HERE

Greater Orange News Service

↑ To add this ANIMATOR CLICK HERE

Greater Orange HEADLINES in the News
  • The Foothills Sentry
  • TOPIX/City of Orange News Service
  • TOPIX/Villa Park News Service
  • The Anaheim BLOG
  • TOPIX/Anaheim Hills News Service
  • TOPIX/Greater Orange Communities Wire Service
  • California CIty News.org HEADLINES Headlines
  • Follow Greater Orange on TWITTER
  • ORANGE NET NEWS TWITTER FEED
  • TOP LOCAL ORANGE COUNTY NEWS STORIES on the WEB
  • ORANGE COUNTY LOCAL NEWS FEED
  • Thursday, June 19, 2008

     

    OUSD’s new community mantra should be…“No Dreier Junkets…No Dreier Excuses”

    Metro VIEWS
    Giving voice to the Greater Orange Communities

    OUSD’s new community mantra should be…
    “No Dreier Junkets…No Dreier Excuses”


    by the Greater Orange Community Group


    You may have heard, California is in a budget crisis, and because of that, so is Orange Unified. The response at the state level is the Democratic controlled California State Legislature and the Republican Governor are battling it out over education, gambling money and taxes. This of course again makes the state budget late, again making budget planning for cities and local agencies an impossible wait-and-see game. The response at OUSD…classroom size increases, program cuts, staff reductions, a 6% retirement buyout (over $15,000 a month alone for the retiring Dr. Thomas Godley) and of course now…a JUNKET at tax payers expense to “visit” the Colorado district of the “only finalist” for the OUSD Superintendent job… Dr. Renae Dreier of Greeley, Colorado. And we thought this time the OUSD Trustees were about to get things right…prepare for the Dreier Junket.

    The OUSD Trustees and Dr. Godley’s administration has long tried to pattern itself after private business (hence the failed Godley From Good to Great slogan). Just imagine the absurdity of corporate headhunter raiders for one Fortune 100 business, let us say Ford Motor Company, stealing away the President and CEO of General Motors. Imagine the response of the GM Board of Directors as the Ford Board of Directors expects to visit GM Headquarters…just to check things out. Clearly the Dreier Junket has no parallel in CEO America.

    To put it in another way, what happens when your across-the-country in-laws decide to visit California after years of being on the other end of the continent? As you put your best foot forward with obligatory amusement park visits, you avoid introducing them to that nosey neighbor who talks trash about you around the neighborhood. You also avoid bringing them to visit the local cousins with the wife that loves to publicly broadcast all your families’ warts to all who will listen. Like that in-law visit, a public visit to “investigate” the “final candidate” is a shameful waste of OUSD Educational Tax dollars. The Dreier Junket is unnecessary.

    A check with Travelocity shows that a roundtrip flight (United Airlines from Orange County to Denver) plus a hotel (Hilton Garden) in downtown Denver is $1256 per person for travel Tuesday June 26- Friday June 29th (links below for less expensive Greenley hotels i.e. Super 8). That of course does not include food expenses, a rental car, gas…you get the picture…did we mention that California and OUSD are in a budget crisis? The Dreier Junket is a waste of local educational tax resources.

    So what is a Board of Education to do to make sure the “final candidate” is the one? In the electronic age of private email and cell phones, there are clearly provided alternatives to the expensive and unneeded Dreier Junket and probably will be more fruitful than a whirlwind community tour at OUSD Taxpayer expense. As a public service and trying to save The Greater Orange Communities thousands of dollars during the current budget crisis (and with an eye toward the November 2008 election and the Freedom of Information Act) we are providing the emails and telephone of Greater Greeley Colorado’s movers and shakers:

    District 6/Greeley School Board:
    Bruce W. Broderius, Ph.D.
    President
    bbroderius@greeleyschools.org
    970-353-4793

    Jesse L. Quinby, Vice President
    jequinby@greeleyschools.org
    970-351-0136

    Linda J. Trimberger, Secretary/Treasurer
    ltrimberger@greeleyschools.org
    970-330-2159

    Judy Kron, Director
    Jkron@greeleyschools.org
    970-330-7163

    Julie Kautz, Director
    jkautz@greeleyschools.org
    970-339-8284

    Robert C. Stack, Director
    rstack@greeleyschools.org
    970-351-6971
    Term expires 2011

    Mark Hinze, Director
    mhinze@greeleyschools.org
    970-353-3003
    Term expires 2011

    DISTRICT 6 ADMINISTRATORS:
    Academic Achievement
    Deputy Superintendent: Dr. Ranelle Lang
    970-348-6266
    rlang@greeleyschools.org

    Assessments
    Director of Assessment, Accounting & Student Data: Dr. Larry Kleiber
    970-348-6265
    lkleiber@greeleyschools.org

    Auxiliary Services
    Chief Operations Officer: Wayne Eads
    970-348-6101
    weads@greeleyschools.org

    Business Services
    Finance Director: Stephanie Reinhardt
    970-348-6123
    sreinhardt@greeleyschools.org

    Budget Director: Meggan Sponsler
    970-348-6112
    meggansponsler@greeleyschools.org


    Custodial Services
    Custodial Director: Brad Johnson
    970-348-6800
    bjohnson@greeleyschools.org



    Greeley High School Principals:
    Mary Lauer
    Principal
    Greeley Central High School
    Phone: 970-348-5000
    malauer@echalk.greeleyschools.org

    Margaret Neely
    Principal
    Northridge High School
    Ph: 970 348 5200
    mneely@echalk.greeleyschools.org

    Robert Harr
    Principal
    Greeley West High School
    Ph: 970-348-5402
    bobh@echalk.greeleyschools.org

    Greeley City Council
    Mayor Ed Clark
    970-590-7760
    ed.clark@greeleygov.com

    Council Members
    Charles Archbeque
    970-353-2876
    bequevision55@yahoo.com

    Ed Phillipsen
    970-353-6600
    Ed.Phillipsen@greeleygov.com

    Don Feldhaus
    970-330-7522
    donfeld7@cs.com

    Pam Shaddock
    970-381-5180
    pam.shaddock@greeleygov.com

    Carrol Martin
    970-356-3571
    Carrol.Martin@greeleygov.com

    Maria Secrest
    maria.secrest@greeleygov.com

    City Manager
    Roy Otto
    roy.otto@greeleygov.com

    Greeley Tribune Publisher
    Bart Smith
    bsmith@greeleytribune.com

    City of Evans City Council
    Lyle Achziger
    Mayor
    (970) 339-5344 x. 205
    lachziger@ci.evans.co.us

    Fred Burmont
    Mayor Pro Tem-Ward 3
    (970) 339-5344 x. 210
    fburmont@ci.evans.co.us

    Laura Brown
    Ward 1
    (970) 339-5344 x. 204
    lbrown@ci.evans.co.us

    John Morris
    Ward 1
    (970) 339-5344 x. 209
    jmorris@ci.evans.co.us

    Tom Hamblen
    Ward 2
    (970) 339-5344 x. 208
    thamblen@ci.evans.co.us

    David Carrier
    Ward 2
    (970) 339-5344 x. 206
    dcarrier@ci.evans.co.us

    Debbie Lambert
    Ward 3
    (970) 339-5344 x. 207
    dlambert@ci.evans.co.us

    Greeley Chamber of Commerce
    President
    Sarah MacQuiddy
    sarah@greeleychamber.com

    Chamber Education Committee
    Mike Reisman, Chair
    970 336 3000

    City of Evans City Manager
    Aden Hogan, Jr.
    970 475-1119
    ahogan@ci.evans.co.us

    Evans Area Chamber of Commerce
    Michele Jones
    Executive Director
    (970) 330-4204
    (970) 506-2726 (fax)
    E-mail: ecc@evanschamber.org


    To our new friends in Colorado who are receiving this email, if you do not hear the Orange Unified Trustees, you can contact them with any information at: board@orangeusd.k12.ca.us.

    Since the OUSD Trustees seen bent on hell to wasting thousands of OUSD Educational dollars here are a few cheaper hotels than Denver:

    GREELEY HOTELS

    And for your sight seeing interests:
    See GREELEY

    Dr. Renae Dreier Story Links:
    DREIER



    Metro VIEWS

    is an community service of The Greater Orange News Service

    Opinions expressed here are not necessarily the opinions of the networks that carry Metro VIEWS.

    Comments: Post a Comment

    Links to this post:

    Create a Link



    << Home

    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

    Greater Orange News Service is a community service of the Orange Communication System /OCS/, the communications arm of the Greater Orange Community Orgainization